How to Block Someone From Seeing Your Profile on Facebook

Blog

Part 1: The Difference between “Unfriend” and “Block”

Before we describe how to block people in Facebook on your iPhone or iPad, it is important to offer a proper distinction between these two often misused Facebook terms.

To unfriend someone on Facebook means that the person can still view your profile and they may even be able to send you a friend request sometime in the future. So, when you unfriend someone, the door is not completely closed. There is still the chance they may become your friend again.

To block people in Facebook on your iPhone or iPad is however more final. The blocked person cannot view your profile and they won’t be able to send you friend request in the future. So you are supposed to think it well before you really want to block people in Facebook on your iPhone or iPad.

Download Off-Facebook Activity

To download your Off-Facebook activity, return to the Off-Facebook Activity page and click Download Your Information on the right.

By default, the Download Your Information page selects all your Facebook data for download. At this point, there is no specific setting just to download your off-Facebook activity information. But certain categories, such Ads and Businesses, do include off-Facebook activity. You may want to select just Ads and Businesses as a first step to see what information it provides, or keep all categories selected to view all your Facebook data. After choosing the categories, click the Create File button.

The page tells you that a copy of your information is being created. You also receive a notification by email. After the file is compiled and ready for download, you will receive another notification email. At the Download Your Information page, click the Available Copies tab, then click the Download button to save the information as a zip file on your computer.

Unzip the file and open it to review the information. From the extracted files, open the index.html file. From there you can access and view whatever categories of information you downloaded.

Video

5. How to block someone on Snapchat

If you block someone on Snapchat, this person will no longer be able to see your stories or send you anything. 

Steps to blocking someone on Snapchat

  1. Open the Snapchat app.
  2. Open the chat with the person who you’re looking to block.
  3. Select “Menu” on the left-handed top corner.
  4. Click “Block.” 
  5. Confirm the block. Once confirmed, the chat will be deleted. 

Steps to unblocking someone on Snapchat

  1. Open the Snapchat app.
  2. Go to “Settings.”
  3. Scroll to the footer, select “Blocked.”
  4. Click “Unblock.” 
  5. Confirm.

Adjust Your Visibility Using Facebook on the Desktop

Facebook allows you to set boundaries on who can find you, send you messages, and access your Facebook profile. Adjust these settings to make yourself as open or invisible as you like.

  1. On your Facebook home page, select the Account icon (the down arrow) in the upper-right corner.

  2. Select Settings & Privacy.

  3. Select Settings.

  4. From the left menu pane, select Privacy.

  5. Under Privacy Settings and Tools, go to How People Find and Contact You, thenselect Edit next to Who can send you friend requests.

    The default is Friends of friends.

  6. Select the drop-down arrow next to Friends of friends (or your current setting).

  7. Select Everyone to allow anyone to send you a friend request, or keep the default Friends of friends setting. Select Close after you make a selection.

  8. Next to Who can look you up using the email address you provided, select Edit.

    The default is Friends.

  9. Select the Friends (or your current setting) drop-down arrow.

  10. Select Everyone, Friends of friends, Friends, or Only Me. Select Close after you make a selection.

    Select Only me for the highest privacy level.

  11. Next to Who can look you up using the phone number you provided, select Edit.

  12. Select the Only Me (or your current setting) drop-down arrow.

  13. Select Everyone, Friends of friends, Friends, or Only me. Select Close after you make a selection.

    Select Only me for the highest privacy level.

  14. Next to Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile, select Edit.

  15. Clear the Allow search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile check box if you want search engines to stop linking to your profile. Tap Turn off in the warning box to confirm. Select Close after you make your selection.

    If you adjusted your privacy settings and a stranger or undesirable person contacts you, consider blocking that person on Facebook to eliminate any chance of future contact.

3. How to block someone on Instagram

Blocking someone on Instagram means that their posts and stories won’t appear in your feed if they’re someone you’ve followed in the past, or you’re viewing the “Discovery” portion of the app.  Additionally, they won’t be able to find your profile, look at your posts, or view your stories. Instagram will not inform someone that they’ve been blocked.

Steps to blocking someone on Instagram through the app

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Find the person’s account.
  3. Click the options menu in the upper right hand corner.
  4. Select “Block” for that user.
  5. Confirm that you’d like to block the person.

Steps to unblocking someone on Instagram through the app

Again, it’s very common to change your mind. Maybe you only blocked your mom because you were planning her surprise party and didn’t want her to find out. Maybe you blocked your boss while you were on vacation with your friends. The steps to adding someone back into your social network are simple.

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Navigate to “Settings.” 
  3. Click “Privacy.”
  4. Under “Connections”, click “Blocked accounts.”
  5. Find the user, and unblock that account.
  6. Confirm that you’d like to unblock the person. 

Additionally, if you don’t want to block the user, Instagram allows for a “Restricted Account” level where only you and that account can see the interaction on your posts. They think they’re still publicly interacting, but no one else can see it.

Manage Off-Facebook Activity

If you’re uncomfortable with this type of tracking, especially since it occurs when you’re not on Facebook, you can use the Off-Facebook Activity tool to manage this information. Access this feature by clicking the down arrow in the top right and selecting Settings. Select Your Facebook Information and click the option for Off-Facebook Activity.

Facebook displays the names of sites that have shared your activity and informs you how it gains access to this kind of information. Get more details about your overall off-Facebook activity by clicking the “Learn More” link at the top. 

To view your off-Facebook activity, click the icon for any site in the list and then enter your password. You will then see all the sites that have provided information on your activity to Facebook. Click a site to view specific details about it.

A line at the top poses the question “How Did Facebook Get This Activity?” The first drop-down menu will tell you how the site was sent the data to Facebook, such as by using Facebook’s business tools. The second drop-down menu lists examples of interactions with other sites, such as opening an app, visiting a website, searching for an item, or purchasing an item.

If you wish to flag a site as inappropriate content or a misuse of your information, scroll to the bottom of the Activity Details screen and click the Give feedback about this activity link. Select a reason for the feedback and click Send.

If you no longer want this site to share your activity with Facebook, click the Turn off future activity link. A confirmation message explains what will happen if you turn off this activity. If you wish to proceed, click the Turn off button. A message tells you that future activity from this site has been turned off, but keep in mind that your past activity has not been disconnected.

Best solution

  • How do I block people who arent my friends from seeing I have a facebook?

    Okay so my mom is a stalker and she recently found out I have a facebook I blocked her, but she makes a bunch of accounts and uses those to see if I still have one (which I do). She just saw that I changed my pro picture (because tht is the only thing she can see since I have my facebook on friends only. So she is freaking out on me because I have been on it and I havnt deleted it. Is there anyway to make it seem like I dnt have one? Like completely block ppl who arent my friends from seeing I have…

    Answer:

    Account – Privacy settings – Customize settings and make everything on your profile so only your friends…

    +2 more answers Read more Mark as irrelevant Undo

Tags